16 Comments

Oh was also going to add Big Night! Then had to think back, maybe Chocolat with Juliet Binoche and Johnny Depp, or Like Water for Chocolate - to this day I tell my kids all their emotion goes into the food - whatever they are feeling - so don't bother cooking of they are angry etc. - but I haven't watched any of those movies in years. Hard to think of a good contemporary food film.

Expand full comment
Jun 27, 2022Liked by Natalie Love Cruz

Julie & Julia has to be one of the top "food-appreciation" movies for me.

Expand full comment
Jun 27, 2022Liked by Natalie Love Cruz

I feel like as a kid, any food looked better in cartoons, like popcorn weirdly?!

Or the pretty patties in spongebob. Ahh, simpler times.

Expand full comment

I'm not sure if I'd call this my favorite, but I've been thinking a lot about the scene in the 1996 version of Matilda where Bruce has to eat the entire cake. As a kid watching this, it felt like the scariest thing that could ever happen — getting caught eating cake and then having to eat a cake almost the size of me. And then at the end when all the kids rally together to cheer for Bruce and encourage him...I think I could still recite this scene from memory.

Expand full comment
Jun 23, 2022Liked by Natalie Love Cruz

Eat Drink Man Woman is an all-time fave. Also really enjoyed Luca Guadagnino's I Am Love back in the day. Underrated!

Expand full comment

Well I have to mention some of the gorgeous food scenes from Japanese animated movies, especially anything Ghibli. There is also a movie that I saw on Netflix called "Flavors of Youth" which has so many gorgeous food scenes that I can't even pick one to highlight.

Expand full comment

I adore the 1996 Stanley Tucci/Tony Shalhoub film "Big Night", so much so that I was inspired to try and recreate the film's crowning food, timpano--a huge baked pasta drum filled with pasta, meats, cheeses, eggs, sauce and more--at the height of my 2020 stir-craziness.

(It was delicious, but food like that demands a crowd that I wasn't going to convene in 2020.)

Expand full comment